Minor Hurling Championship: Event time in town

Raheny 2-11

St Vincent’s 0-13

RAHENY asserted the club’s first ever Dublin minor ‘A’ tossing champion title in Santry last Sunday morning as an Adam McAweeney goal in the 10th min set them on their means to a popular sway St Vincent’s.

Raheny led at the period by 1-6 to 0-6 thanks to McAweeney’s clinical strike past Vinny’s keeper Andrew Smyth, and Raheny came close to a 2nd goal before the break however Daniel Broderick’s flipped initiative was remarkably saved by Smyth.

Vinny’s battled the momentum from their northside opponents early in the second fifty percent, three points in a row from Conor Dolan, Aaron Cosgrave as well as Daniel Peel bringing the sides back degree.

Peel and Hurley again traded points before a dazzling point from Oisín Mulcahy bordered Vincent’s ahead. But a Hurley complimentary after that brought parity for the sixth time– 1-9 to 0-12.

Read more in this weeks Dublin Gazette out in stores now And after that came the crucial moment as Raheny wing-back Brian Dunne found the back of the web to fire his side ahead, before Hurley after that pressed them 3 clear, and also when Cian Mitchell’s exquisite factor expanded their bring about four points it was event time in the town.

Elsewhere, Ballinteer St Johns protected a second succeeding Dublin Minor ‘B’ Hurling Champion title, when edging Castleknock by 2-16 to 1-18 at O’Toole Park on Sunday morning, while Erin’s Isle claimed the Dublin Minor ‘C’ Hurling Championship title when getting the better of Ballyboden St Enda’s, by 2-18 to 2-14, at Páirc Uí Mhurchú.

Image: Ray Boyne

You May Also Like